Discover the License Library’s functional areas. You will find diverse features which support you with your daily Software Asset Management (SAM) tasks and procedures.

Find out now!

KNOWLEDGEBASE

The continuously growing core of the License Library contains a collection of software use rights and well-structured information which are essential for the proper licensing of software. This information is being researched, supported by official documents, and approved.
Products available in the Knowledgebase follow a certain product structure (Manufacturer – Product Family – Version – Edition) and are linked to licensing (meta) information. Depending on the accessibility and diversity of information, software products may vary in the amount of information available to them. You will find, for example, details about the licensing metric, language and platform rules, standard classifications, export rules based on the Export Control Classification Number, downgrade rights, second use rights and much more.
Products currently not available in the Knowledgebase can be requested free of cost via the License Service Desk.

PRODUCT GUIDES

This section contains a collection of current and archived product guides issued by the software vendors. Those guides are focused on software licensing and give, in many cases, a higher-level view on the licensing of individual products.
Those guides are ordered according to the year of publication and are proactively complemented, mostly on a monthly basis. Depending on availability, each guide will be accessible in English and German.

MASTER AGREEMENTS

This part of the License Library is focused on the structured presentation of the core features and differences of software vendors’ major contracts. Information available in this section is base data and is supposed to support the user in understanding the major differences of the contracts displayed.
When you are browsing the Knowledgebase, you will find a link on each product to the Master Agreements, if there is a Master Agreement section available for the respective software vendor.

USE CASES

In this section of the License Library you will find concise answers and solutions to complex use cases of Software Asset Management (SAM). Categorized by the software vendor, these cases are always initiated by a specific question or issue which in most cases refers to a certain software product. The solution is presented in an easy-to-understand format and verified by a screenshot, indication of source as well as downloadable documentation. Use cases are are structured according to the respective software vendor, but can also be browsed via a full text search.
If you have an individual licensing question, you can always open a Use Case Ticket via the License Service Desk.

SKU TRACKER

The SKU Tracker enables you to perform a live search of SKUs or software products (licenses), accessing a steadily growing database which we have been maintaining since 2001. The result of your search will be an original vendor SKU and a normalized software license description which contains relevant and detailed purchasing information according to the SKU.  The result will improve the transparency of your purchased software licenses and make future purchasing procedures easier and, more importantly, safer.
If your search does not lead to a result, you will see the option to submit the required SKU. The provided data will then be validated, processed and integrated into the SKU Tracker. You will of course be informed about the result of the integration process.

OSS LICENSE REVIEW

How does Open Source Software (OSS) influence Software Asset Management and which are the factors that determine its influence? The OSS License Review provides solutions to said issues by classifying common OSS licenses and verifying as well as documenting essential rights and obligations that come with the respective OSS license.
The result is a broad collection of OSS licenses that provides a direct and easy access to OSS licensing. You can browse the OSS licenses via a full text search and download the available license texts.

FONT LICENSING

Typefaces or fonts are very similar to software. They are subject to certain use rights, the scenarios in which they are used are very diverse, and the ways in which they can be licensed are accordingly complex. However, they are much less in the center of attention than software, even though they come with potential risk if you do not comply with the license terms.
Based on Font Foundries, this section of the License Library gives you an overview about the different licensing models, describes how typefaces and fonts can be used in certain scenarios, and gives you direct access to the license terms of the individual Font Foundries.

LICENSE SERVICE DESK

You can use our ticket service to gain access to the knowledge of our SAM experts at the License Service Desk team. We handle queries to any software vendor and the result of the research will be documented in the License Library and provided to you directly.
Use the Licensing Support to request products which are currently not available in the Knowledgebase. We will research the license use rights, present the core information in detail, approve the edited data, and get back to you when the product was released in the Knowledgebase.
A EULA Check Ticket includes the research of specific information based on a EULA or a comparable document. The acquisition of the document is part of the service. You can access a EULA check template in the License Library.
Open a Use Case Ticket to let our experts solve your individual software licensing question. We are going to research the required information, process it in a comparable way and include documents of proof. The answer to your ticket will be provided via the License Service Desk.

Entdecken Sie die umfassenden Funktionen der License Library. Sie erhalten vielfältige Unterstützung bei Ihren täglichen Aufgaben und Abläufen im Software Asset Management (SAM).

Informieren Sie sich jetzt!

KNOWLEDGEBASE

Dieser ständig wachsende Kernbereich der License Library umfasst eine Sammlung von Nutzungsbedingungen und strukturiert aufbereitete Informationen, die essentiell für die Lizenzierung von Software sind. Diese Informationen werden recherchiert, mit offiziellen Nachweisen und Dokumenten belegt und validiert.
Die Produkte in der Knowledgebase folgen einer eindeutigen Struktur (Hersteller – Produktfamilie – Version – Edition) und sind mit lizenzfachlichen Informationen verknüpft. Abhängig von den zur Verfügung stehenden Informationen, sind diese Softwareprodukte mit einer unterschiedlichen Menge an Attributen ausgestattet. Sie finden bspw. Details zur Lizenzierungsmetrik, zur Relevanz von Sprache und Plattform für die Lizenzierung, Standardklassifizierungen, Exportregeln basierend auf der Export Control Classification Number, Downgrade-Rechte, Zweitnutzungsrechte und vieles mehr.
Produkte die derzeit nicht in der Knowledgebase zur Verfügung stehen, können Sie kostenfrei über den License Service Desk anfragen.

PRODUCT GUIDES

Dieser Bereich umfasst eine Sammlung und Archivierung von Dokumenten, die von Software Herstellern veröffentlicht werden. Diese Guides sind fokussiert auf Software Lizenzierung und bieten, in den meisten Fällen, eine übergeordnete Sicht auf die Lizenzierung einzelner Produkte.
Diese Guides sind nach ihrem Erscheinungsjahr geordnet und werden proaktiv, in den meisten Fällen monatlich, ergänzt. In Abhängigkeit der jeweiligen Verfügbarkeit, wird jeder Guide in deutscher und englischer Sprache bereitgestellt.

MASTER AGREEMENTS

In diesem Bereich der License Library werden die Kernaspekte und Unterschiede der unterschiedlichen Rahmenverträge großer Software Hersteller strukturiert dargestellt. Die hier verfügbaren Informationen stellen Basisdaten da und sollen dabei unterstützen, die Bedingungen der unterschiedlichen Rahmenverträge vergleichen zu können.
Zu jedem Herstellerbereich der Master Agreements finden Sie eine Verlinkung in den Produkten der Knowledgebase, die zu diesem Hersteller gehören. So können Sie neben den lizenzfachlichen Informationen auch schnell die kaufmännischen Rahmenbedingungen einsehen.

USE CASES

In diesem Bereich der License Library werden komplexe Anwendungsfälle der Software Lizenzierung aufgearbeitet und in kurzer und prägnanter Form beantwortet. Diese Fälle sind nach dem betreffenden Hersteller geordnet und gehen immer von einer spezifischen Frage aus, die sich in den meisten Fällen um ein konkretes Produkt und Szenario dreht. Die Antworten sind in einem leicht verständlichen Format gehalten und sind meistens mit einem Screenshot, einer Quellenangabe und einem offiziellen Dokument, das als Nachweis dient und heruntergeladen werden kann, versehen. Sie können diesen Bereich auch mithilfe einer Volltextsuche und Stichworten durchsuchen.
Sollten Sie eine komplexe, individuelle lizenzfachliche Frage haben, können Sie jederzeit ein Use Case Ticket über den License Service Desk eröffnen.

SKU TRACKER

Mit dem SKU Tracker können Sie gezielt nach SKUs oder kaufmännischen Softwareprodukten suchen. Die Suche erlaubt die Eingabe von Volltexten und verläuft in Echtzeit. Als Ergebnis erhalten Sie die originale Hersteller SKU und einen normalisierten, strukturierten Artikeltext, der das Software Produkt genau beschreibt. Auf diese Weise helfen wir Ihnen, bereits getätigt, uneindeutige Beschaffungen zu entschlüsseln und Sicherheit in zukünftige Beschaffungen zu bringen.
Sollte Ihre Suche zu keinem Ergebnis führen, wird Ihnen eine Option eingeblendet, über die Sie die benötigte SKU und weitere Angaben zur Bearbeitung übermitteln können. Das von Ihnen ausgefüllte Formular dient als Grundlage der Validierung der Daten. Nach deren Verarbeitung und Aufnahme in den SKU Tracker werden Sie selbstverständlich informiert.

OSS LICENSE REVIEW

Welchen Einfluss hat Open Source Software (OSS) auf die Software-Lizenzierung und welche Kernelemente bestimmen diesen Einfluss? Mit der Lösung solcher Fragestellungen befasst sich das OSS License Review, indem gängige OSS Lizenzen eingeordnet und essentielle Rechte und Pflichten für jede Lizenz abgeprüft und dokumentiert werden.
Das Ergebnis ist eine umfassende Sammlung an OSS Lizenzen, die einen schnellen und übersichtlichen Zugang zur Lizenzierung von OSS ermöglichen. Sie können diesen Bereich per Volltextsuche durchsuchen und die vorhandenen Lizenztexte auch herunterladen.

FONT LICENSING

Schriftarten sind Software in vielen Bereichen sehr ähnlich. Sie unterliegen bestimmten Nutzungsrechten, ihre Einsatzszenarien sind äußerst divers und die Möglichkeiten der Lizenzierung dementsprechend komplex. Sie stehen allerdings noch weniger im Fokus als Software, obwohl es auch im Bereich der Schriftarten viele Risiken gibt, wenn die Lizenzbedingungen nicht eingehalten werden.
Dieser Bereich der License Library gibt Ihnen auf Basis von Schriftarten-Herstellern einen Überblick über die unterschiedlichen Lizenzmodelle, erklärt wie Schriftarten in welchen Szenarien genutzt werden dürfen und bietet Ihnen direkten Zugang zu den Lizenzbedingungen der einzelnen Hersteller.

LICENSE SERVICE DESK

Lizenzfachliche Fragestellungen können via Ticket an den License Service Desk übergeben werden. Ein Team von Lizenzierungsexperten recherchiert und bewertet Ihre eingereichten Fragestellungen. Die Antworten auf Ihre Fragestellungen werden in der License Library dokumentiert und Ihnen zur Verfügung gestellt.
Nutzen Sie den Lizenzsupport, um Produkte kostenfrei anzufragen, die derzeit nicht in der Knowledgebase verfügbar sind. Daraufhin werden die Lizenzbedingungen recherchiert, die Kernaspekte herausgearbeitet und die verarbeiten Informationen validiert. Sie werden informiert, sobald das gewünschte Produkt in der Knowledgebase zur Verfügung steht.
Ein EULA Check Ticket umfasst die Recherche festgelegter Informationen anhand einer EULA oder eines vergleichbaren Dokuments. Die Beschaffung des Dokuments ist Teil der Leistung. Ein Beispiel für ein EULA Check Ticket steht zur Ansicht in der License Library bereit.
Eröffnen Sie ein Use Case Ticket, um Ihre individuellen lizenzfachlichen Fragen von unseren Experten lösen zu lassen. Wir recherchieren die gewünschten Informationen, stellen sie in einer nachvollziehbaren Form zusammen und verknüpfen sie mit entsprechenden Nachweisen. Die Antwort auf Ihre Frage stellt Ihnen dann der License Service Desk zur Verfügung.